Long weekends of 2018 in India

Make your travel plans for the long weekends for this year to come. 2018 is ready to offer the next  long weekends to travel for leisure and spike the monotonous day life.

To help you plan the vacations well in advance. Let’s make 2018 a year of travel !

January, Month of White Desert  

20th Jan -Saturday, Weekend

21st Jan – Sunday, Weekend

22nd Jan – Monday, Basant Panchmi (Restricted Holiday)

26th Jan – Friday, Republic Day (Compulsory Holiday)

27th Jan – Saturday, Weekend

28th Jan – Sunday, Weekend

Where to Plan : Gujarat, Rann of Kutch, the festival of Kites ad culture celebrated in the white desert of salt. This four months cultural tour of Gujarat is the best time to move for the relaxing weekend.  Gujarat gives you a vibrant mix of culture and food. Nearest Airport is Bhuj or you can travel by train. its connected by train from all the major cities of India. You can utilize any of the consecutive weekend for the Gujarat.

February, Month of Love and Mountains 

16th Feb – Friday, Losar Festival (Celebrated in Ladakh)

17th Feb, Saturday, Weekend

18th Feb, Sunday, Weekend

Where to Plan: With a long celebrations for love and valentine over a week, one can surprise their love one with the high altitude mountains for those celebrations. Losar Festival is the best time to visit Ladakh when the buddhist people celebrate the Tibetan New Year. Most of the  Monasteries in Ladakh are well decorated with the traditional props and ornaments. cultural events take place. Although Ladakh will be covered with snow. But still this will be a time cherish happiness and peace loving culture of Ladakh and Buddhism.

March – Month of Colours 

1st Mar – Thursday: Holika Dahan (Restricted Holiday)

2nd Mar, Friday: Holi (Gazetted Holiday)

3rd Mar, Saturday: Weekend

4th Mar, Sunday: Weekend

Where to Plan: The best thing about this weekend is that every corner of India celebrate this festival. Specially Uttar Pradesh- Mathura and Vrindavan. This festival is celebrate almost for 15 days n these cities and very much famous for its lath mar Holi of Barsana and ” Fullo ki Holi ” – Holi played with flowers of Bihari ji Temple, Vrindavan. One must participate in this festival. Well connected with Delhi via Yamuna expressway. Nearest railway station Mathura also well connected by the railway network from major cities.

29th Mar, Thursday: Mahavir Jayanti (Gazetted Holiday)

30th Mar, Friday: Good Friday (Compulsory Holiday)

31st Mar, Saturday: Weekend

1st Apr, Sunday: Weekend

Where to plan: Srinagar  is the best time to visit  with the out break of summers and end of autumn season at the geographical and cultural wonder of Dal Lake. floating gardens, to a circumference  of decorated historical buildings such as Hari Parbat, Hazratbal Dargah, Shankaracharya Mandir and Chashme Shahi, the Dal Lake stands as the last surviving symbol of secularism in Kashmir.

April – Month of Rising Sun 

27th Apr, Friday: Take leave

28th Apr, Saturday: Weekend

29th Apr, Sunday: Weekend

30th Apr, Monday: Buddha Purnima (Compulsory Holiday)

1st May, Tuesday: Labour Day & Maharashtra Day (Maharashtra only)

Where to Plan: Make use of this long weekend to explore the first states of Eastern India. West Bengal and Sikkim. You can plan to explore Gangtok and Darjeeling with Kalimpong. Explore the beauty of tea estate in Darjeeling and Himalayan peaks in Gangtok. Beauty of Gangtok with snow covered Himalayan mountains in the background are worth to spend such a long week of 4 Nights to explore these cities. Bagdogra is the nearest Airport  and New Jalpaiguri is the nearest railway station in West Bengal.

June – Month of Green – Prosperity 

15th Jun, Friday: Idul’ Fitr (Compulsory Holiday)

16th Jun, Saturday: Weekend

17th Jun, Sunday: Weekend

Where to Plan:  This weekend its best to plan Tirthan Valley. A gateway to the Great Himalayan National PArk.  To reach Tirthan from Delhi, you need to take a bus going to Manali and get down at Aut. From Aut, regular buses are available between, Gushaini, Banjar and Jibhi. Banjar is the biggest bus stand of Tirthan region and from here you can get the regular buses for Gushaini, Jalori and Jibhi. Once there, you can either stay at an apple orchard, go hiking or embark on multi-day trek in the Great Himalayan National Park or go fishing for trout in the shallow but pristine Tirthan River.

October – Month of Festivities. 

29th Sep, Saturday: Weekend

30th Sep, Sunday: Weekend

1st Oct, Monday: Take the day off.

2nd Oct, Tuesday: Gandhi Jayanti (Compulsory Holiday)

Where to Plan: Wayanad is the rural district in Kerala with lush green scenic beauty and wildlife sanctuary. It’s a high altitude region, home to animals including Asiatic Elephants, tigers and Leopards and egrets. Trivandrum, Cochin and Bangalore are the nearest Airports and Kozhikode is the nearest railway connecting Wayanad.

18th Oct, Thursday: Ram Navami (Gazetted Holiday)

19th Oct, Friday: Dusshera (Compulsory Holiday)

20th Oct, Saturday: Weekend

21st Oct, Sunday: Weekend

Where to Plan: This weekend will be best to go to Mysore famous for its Dussehra festival. Mysore Dussehra is world famous for its 10 days celebrations. One must witness this festivite once in a lifetime. Bangalore is the nearest airport and regular busses are available for Mysore.

Novemeber – Month of Celebrations 

3rd Nov, Saturday: Weekend

4th Nov, Sunday: Weekend

5th Nov, Monday: Dhanteras/ Take the day off.

6th Nov, Tuesday: Take the day off.

7th Nov, Wednesday: Diwali (Compulsory Holiday)

8th Nov, Thursday: Govardhan Puja/ Take the day off.

9th Nov, Friday: Bhai Duj (Restricted Holiday)

10th Nov, Saturday: Weekend

11th Nov, Sunday: Weekend

Where to Plan: A good weekend to celebrate and go for a long holiday. List of suggestion go long, but you can even plan a trip to  SingaporeMalaysiaDubaiThailandSRI LANKAVIETNAM

22nd Dec, Saturday: Weekend

23rd Dec, Sunday: Weekend

24th Dec, Monday: Take the day off.

25th Dec, Tuesday: Christmas Day

Where to Plan: Best time and a good weekend to plan a trip to Jodhpur and Jaisalmer. Desert is the best time to see the golden sunrise in sand dunes, Dune Bashing and camping in the Thar Desert. Jodhpur has a airport and nearest is the Udaipur airport. Well Connected with Indian railways as well.

About Author

client-photo-1
admin

Comments

Leave a Reply